Entry Requirements for Copenhagen

Entry Requirements for Copenhagen

Find out which documents are required in order to travel to Copenhagen depending on your nationality, and find out if you can enter with your passport, an entry visa, or your ID card.

EU Countries

Denmark has been a member of the European Union since 1973. As such, residents of the Schengen Zone may enter Copenhagen simply by presenting a valid ID card or passport:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, and Norway.

Additional Countries Exempt from an Entry Visa

For all travel less than three consecutive months, citizens from the following countries may enter Denmark by simply presenting a valid passport:

Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela, Iceland, Norway, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, the United States, and Vatican City.

Additional Countries

The best option for citizens of the remaining countries not listed above is to ask the nearest Danish embassy in your respective country or refer to the official government webpage of Copenhagen: